:::: MENU ::::

National Qualifications

  • Oct 19 / 2014
  • Comments Off on National Qualifications

National Qualifications

The new national qualifications will be in place for pupils who are currently in S4 (session 2013-14). The changes are such that the previous qualifications at   Standard Grade and Intermediate 1 and 2 previously sat in S4 will be replaced as detailed in the table below.

S4 New Qualification Replaces Current Qualification
National 3 ———– Access 3 and

Standard Grade Foundation Level

National 4 ———– Standard Grade General Level and

Intermediate 1

National 5 ———– Standard Grade

Credit Level and

Intermediate 2



Higher (revised) ———— Higher

Higher (revised)

———— Advanced


There will also be formal recognition of Numeracy  and Literacy as Units within Mathematics and English courses.

The SQA website www.sqa.org.uk/cfeforparents is also full of useful information   to help you understand the new National Qualifications.

Some other websites you may find useful are: